A bold roadmap for our future requires bold leadership and many contributing voices.

Committee at table


Elliott Cheu photo

Elliott Cheu

Associate Dean and Professor, College of Science

Lisa Ordóñez

Vice Dean and Professor, Eller College of Management

Executive Committee

Jane Hunter

Jane Hunter, Ph.D., PMP

Vice President for Strategic Initiatives

Jon Dudas

Senior Vice President and Secretary of the University

Jeff Goldberg

Interim Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost

Dean, College of Engineering & Professor, Systems and Industrial Engineering

Nancy Pollock-Ellwand

Dean, College of Architecture, Planning and Landscape Architecture (CAPLA)

Robert Robbins

President, University of Arizona

Jessica J. Summers

Associate Professor, Teaching, Learning & Sociocultural Studies and Chair of the Faculty

Advisory Committee

Carol Barnes

Director, Evelyn F. McKnight Brain Institute and Regents' Professor, Psychology

Erika Barnes

Senior Associate Athletic Director, Administration - Major Gifts

Jennifer Barton

Director and Professor, BIO5 Institute

Roberta Brinton

Director, Center for Innovation in Brain Science and Professor, College of Medicine

Shane Burgess

Vice President and Dean, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Michael Dake

Senior Vice President for Health Sciences

Karen Francis-Begay

Assistant Vice President of Tribal Relations

Paulo Goes

Dean, Eller College and Professor, Management Information Systems

Doug Hockstad

Vice President of Tech Launch Arizona

John Paul "JP" Jones III

Dean, College of Social & Behavioral Sciences and Professor, School of Geography & Development

Sara Marie Knepper

Director - Academic Advising, College of Education

Brew McKenna

Senior Advisor to the President

Marc Miller

Dean, James E Rogers College of Law and Professor of Law

Steve Moore

Senior Vice President and Chief Marketing and Communications Officer

Francisco Moreno

Associate Vice President, Diversity and Inclusion and Professor, Psychiatry

Kim Ogden

Interim Vice President for Research

Marcia Rieke

Associate Department Head and Regents' Professor, Astronomy Department

John-Paul Roczniak

President & CEO, UA Foundation and Vice President of Development

Lisa Romero

Senior Director, Public Affairs and Communications, BIO5 Institute

Joaquin Ruiz

Vice President for Innovation, Dean, College of Science and Professor, Geosciences

Steve Schwartz

Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Laura Todd Johnson

Senior Vice President for Legal Affairs and General Counsel

Allison Vaillancourt

Vice President, Business Affairs and Human Resources

Kendal Washington White

Dean of Students and Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs

Kelli Wheeler

Administrative Associate, UAHS Human Resources

Karen Williams

VP, Information Strategy & University Libraries

Michael Worobey

Department Head and Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Deans Advisory Committee

David G. Besselsen

Interim Dean, College of Veterinary Medicine

Melody Buckner

Interim Dean, UA South Sierra Vista

Shane C. Burgess

Dean, College of Agriculture & Life Sciences

Charles Cairns

Dean, College of Medicine - Tucson

Andrew Carnie

Dean, Graduate College

Alain-Philippe Durand

Dean, College of Humanities

Tannis Gibson

Dean, College of Fine Arts

Paulo Goes

Dean, Eller College of Management

Iman Hakim

Dean, Mel and Inid Zuckerman College of Public Health

Larry Head

Interim Dean, College of Engineering

Terry L. Hunt

Dean, The Honors College

Bruce Johnson

Dean, College of Education

John P. Jones III

Dean, College of Social & Behavioral Sciences

Thomas L. Koch

Dean, College of Optical Sciences

Marc L. Miller

Dean, James E. Rogers College of Law

Nancy Pollock-Ellwand

Dean, College of Architecture, Planning & Landscape Architecture

Guy L. Reed

Dean, College of Medicine - Phoenix

Joaquin Ruiz

Dean, College of Science

Rick Schnellmann

Dean, College of Pharmacy

Joan Shaver

Dean, College of Nursing

Shan C. Sutton

Dean, University Libraries

Initiative Design Team Leaders

During Phase 1, we received a tremendous amount of input into the strategic plan from thousands of Wildcats through town halls, website responses, class visits, and focus groups involving students, faculty, staff, alumni, and community members. From this input, certain non-exhaustive priority areas have consistently emerged. As we transition into phase 2, we are asking design teams to help us “dive deeper” into these emerging priority areas over the next month to help design preliminary initiatives for the strategic plan. We look forward to bringing these preliminary initiatives back to the entire Wildcat community for feedback and guidance. As always, please continue to reach out to Elliott Cheu and Lisa Ordóñez with any and all input as we continue to think boldly about the UA’s future.

Alumni Engagement

Melinda Burke, Jenny Flynn, Danielle Bishop, Andrea Miller, Tony Proudfoot, James Francis, Nancy Yaeli

Curriculum and Pedagogy

Paul Blowers, Gail Burd, Daisy Pitkin, Keith Swisher, Jonathan Tullis, Francesca Lopez, Jill Koyama, Melissa Fitch

Data Science

Bonnie Hurwitz, Nirav Merchant, Sudha Ram, Mihai Surdeanu, Yves Lussier, Helen Zhang, Clay Morrison

Diversity & Inclusion

Helena Rodrigues and the Diversity Coordinating Council

Environment and Climate

Andrew Comrie, Diana Liverman, Kim Ogden, Xubin Zeng, Ben Champion, Joellen Russell, David Breshears, Aletheia Ida


Suzanne Panferov, David Pietz, Brent White, Harmony Defazio, Javier Duran


Carol Barnes, Stephen Gilliland, Ken Ramos, Akinlolu Ojo, Dan Derksen, Evan Unger

Humanities and Arts 

Bryan Carter, Joseph Farbrook, Ken McAllister, David Taylor, Betsy Schauer, Lisanne Skyler, Colin Blakely, Brooks Jeffery


David Allen, Bruce Wright, Remy Arteaga, Joaquin Ruiz, Marv Slepian, Doug Hockstad


Barbara Bryson, Steve Schwartz, Joel Hauff, Allison Vaillancourt, Lisa Rulney, Tony DeFrancesco, Brian Ten Eyck


Jennifer Barton, Laird Close, Nasser Peyghambarian, Diego Martin, Wolfgang Fink, Alfred McEwen, Esther Sternberg

Space Sciences

Buell Jannuzi, Marcia Rieke, Tim Swindle, Olivier Guyon, Jared Males, Vishnu Reddy, Brian Ten Eyck

Student Outcomes

Angela Baldasare, Vincent Del Casino, Cynthia Demetriou, Anne Pagel, Kasey Urquidez, Thomas Murray, Kimberly Sierra-Cajas, Kendal Washington White